Whatsapp has brought a new feature called “New Archive”, that lets you mute archived chats forever. This means you can now easily avoid annoying chats. Back in 2019, the company was working on a “vacation mode” feature it ignores the new messages coming on the archived chats. But multiple reports came that the feature is discontinued.

Now Mute Archive Chats Forever in Whatsapp

WhatsApp 'New Archive' Feature Let's You Mute Archive Chats Forever

The company also tested renaming the feature in January this year, and now finally the feature is rolling out for beta users and is being called “New Archive”. The app already has an archived chat feature, that allows the users to hide the chats that they don’t want to keep in the chat section. Now, the company is bringing similar features but with better improvements.

According to the reports on WABetaInfo, the feature is rolling out for beta users and it will keep all annoying chats hidden. At present, in the archive section, when the archived chats receive a new message, the chats come out of the archive section, even if you have muted that particular contact. And this annoys a lot, to the user who doesn’t want to check that annoying messages. However, now this issue will be solved with the upcoming New archive feature, as it will keep the chat archived, even if you receive any message.

The company has started rolling out the feature to Android beta users of 2.21.11.1. If you are a regular user then you need to wait for some time to get the feature.

How to Use New Archive Feature in WhatsApp?

Follow the given steps if you are a beta user to enable the new feature of Whatsapp.

  1. Open the “Archived Chats” section by scrolling down the conversation list
  2. Now, click on the three dots at the top-right corner and select the “Archive settings” option.
  3. There you will see a new toggle of “Keep chats archived”
  4. Turn it On. That’s it! All the archived chats will be now muted forever until you toggle off this option.

However, now Whatsapp keeps the archived chats at the top of the page when you enable the toggle. And if you disable it, you will see the chats below.

If the same person has sent you many messages then you will see “1”, which shows that you have 1 archived chat message.

Once again we are telling, this feature is not yet out for everybody, so, do not hesitate. When the feature is officially rolled out, we will share it with you.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here